Where to Find Candy

October 14, 2010 at 10:30 am 12 comments

CandyA lot of people have asked me where I got the candy to decorate all the houses in the book. I was able to find most of it at Wal-mart and our local grocery stores. A great place to look for candy is at the dollar store. That was my number one source for Chiclets! If you’re having a hard time finding something, a dedicated candy store or online store is your best bet. Our local candy store, the Candy Barrel, was a good source for me–they had stick candy in all kinds of colors and flavors, and you could buy just one or two instead of having to buy a whole box (like you’d have to do online). My favorite online stores:
Candy Warehouse: they mostly sell bulk quantities so it’s not always practical, but they have just about everything. Plus it’s a great resource for browsing through candy colors and shapes.
Oh! Nuts: This store also sells in bulk but usually in smaller quantities. This is a great source for chocolate-covered sunflower seeds in lots of different colors. They also have candy beads, sixlets, M&Ms, and other candies in single colors, in case you want lots of something in one color.
Oriental Trading: another great source for tons of different candy in smaller quantities.

If you have any other good sources for candy, please leave a comment and let me know!

Entry filed under: Helpful Tips. Tags: , , , , , , .

Haunted Gingerbread Mansion Hello, Tatertots and Jello visitors!

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Heidi  |  October 15, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    I found little packets of individual colors of chocolate-covered sunflower seeds at our Party City store in the candy section. I haven’t used them yet, but hopefully they’ll still be available when I need them!

    Party City also sells a wide variety of candy by the piece (usually around 15¢ each) so you can pick out just the colors you need.

    Reply
  • 2. Kathy  |  November 7, 2010 at 5:38 am

    We shop at the same places, lol. Oriental Trading and the DOLLAR TREE – two of my favorite places to find things. Hobby Lobby is another good one!
    Love the Haunted Mansion!

    Reply
    • 3. lisatanderson  |  November 7, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      Great idea to look at craft stores. Thanks for the suggestion, Kathy!

      Reply
  • 4. Tami  |  November 7, 2010 at 7:58 am

    visiting from Tatertots and Jello. When I’m looking for candy I check the bulk section of our grocery store there is always some excellent choices there. I also stockpile a few halloween treats for later use too.

    Reply
  • 5. ranae  |  November 7, 2010 at 9:00 am

    i just think your recipe book is the most creative thing ever. i love it!

    sent here from tatortots and jello 🙂

    Reply
  • 6. Tabitha  |  November 7, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Thanks for the resource info. Sometimes it is very hard to find what you need to make holiday treats like little houses.

    Reply
  • 7. Laura  |  November 7, 2010 at 9:58 am

    These tips are so helpful! Thanks!

    Reply
  • 8. Oklahoma Granny  |  November 7, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    I’m entering a contest to win your new Gingerbread House book over at Tatertots and Jello. If I don’t win it, I’ll certainly be checking out my local bookstore!

    Reply
  • 9. Leah  |  November 7, 2010 at 2:53 pm

    Visiting from tatertots and jello! The book looks great!

    Reply
  • 10. Lizzy  |  November 7, 2010 at 5:41 pm

    Hi–I’m visiting from Tatertots & Jello–thanks for doing the giveaway! This book looks really neat. I love the idea of building houses to match stories or nursery rhymes. My daughter would love that 🙂

    Reply
  • 11. Jenna Winters  |  November 8, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I found your blog through the TaterTots and Jello Giveaway! I have to say that Gingerbread houses is one thing I absolutely love to do at Christmas time! The thing is, is I suck at making the ginger bread and therefore that makes for a very bad ginger bread house! the giveaway would really improve our Christmas tradition!!! 🙂

    Reply
  • 12. lisatanderson  |  November 9, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    Thanks for the nice comments and the good suggestions for finding candy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


No-Bake Gingerbread Houses for Kids

Buy a copy of the book!

Cupcake Cakes

Buy a copy of the book!

Tweets!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


